Employee Spotlight: Tré Jackson

Tré enjoys nature at Lost River Cave

Summer is the busiest season at Lost River Cave, and we can’t say thank you enough to the staff for their hard work. Lost River Cave recognizes wonderful individuals who keep us afloat, from tour guides to cashiers to maintenance.

Tré Jackson was born in Nashville, but he and his family moved to several different states before arriving in Bowling Green, Kentucky. Tré is excited to be attending culinary school at Bowling Green Technical College this fall.

Q &A with Tré

What originally brought you to Lost River Cave? My sister saw an ad for it in the paper, and she figured if my last job was tour guiding, maybe I’d like it over here. I was a tour guide at the Corvette Assembly Plant before I came here.

How is Lost River Cave different from any other employer you’ve ever had?  It’s completely different. It’s a lot more free space, and it’s outside. It’s a lot more versatile.  It’s not the same thing every day. I’m not stuck behind a stupid copy machine all day.

Have your thoughts on caves or nature changed at all since you’ve been here?  Actually I knew almost nothing about caves before I got here, and going through training I learned so much. I really like it. I like how the ecosystem outside the cave is so much different from the one inside the cave.

Have you had any memorable visitors during your time working here? I gave a tour to some people from Denmark who were fun, and also one of my student teachers from high school came in. 

What do you think the WORST corny cave joke is? Probably the one about the differences in the Northern and Southern Cave Fish.  The Northern Cave Fish tends to swear a little bit more, and the Southern Cave Fish drinks lemon in its sweet tea.

Have you had much opportunity to travel, if so where to, or where would you like to go?  I’ve never traveled anywhere, but I would love to go to Beijing, China and see the great wall. My goal in life is to run down it. Even though it’s a lot of miles, I want to at least run some of it. I also want to take some Tae Kwon Do classes in Korea.

For visitors reading this, do you have any recommendation for where to tour/eat/explore in the Bowling Green area or all of Kentucky?
Well Kentucky Is known for a lot of things, but I’d have to say if you are going to go to Kentucky, go to Mammoth Cave and go to Lost River Cave. Go to all the caves in the area! Bowling Green has lots of options also, and they also have the Corvette Plant and Museum.

Any last words of wisdom for your visitors reading this?  Don’t believe everyone you hear; not everyone in Bowling Green wears overalls and no shoes.

Leave a Reply

