Employee Spotlight: Bridget Roper

 

Bridget enjoys nature at Lost River Cave

Summer is the busiest season at Lost River Cave, and we can’t say thank you enough to the staff for their hard work. Lost River Cave recognizes wonderful individuals who keep us afloat, from tour guides to cashiers to maintenance.

Bridget Roper is originally from Bowling Green, and she currently attends Bowling Green Technical College where she is studying to be a nurse. Along with being a cashier, she also takes care of her 18-month old daughter. She started working at Lost River Cave this summer.

Q &A with Bridget

What originally brought you to Lost River Cave? It was in the newspaper to be honest. It sounded like fun. I didn’t want a stressful job on my break. 

How is Lost River Cave different from any other employer you’ve ever had? We all work together. Everywhere else I’ve worked, you are responsible for your tasks and that’s it. It’s taking some getting used to.
 
Have your thoughts on caves or nature changed at all since you’ve been here?  I’ve learned more. I’ve always enjoyed the outdoors, and now I’m learning things since I started working here. 
 
Have you had any memorable visitors during your time working here? All the visitors are memorable to me. I like when people come from all over and they say they enjoyed the tour; I feel good.

What do you think the WORST corny cave joke is? I’ve only been on one tour, and I can’t remember any of the jokes.  I’d lived here the majority of my life, I’d been here with my school, and the first time I took a tour was when I got hired. 

Have you had much opportunity to travel, if so where to? Or, where would you like to go? I’ve never traveled abroad; the furthest I’ve gone was Hawaii. It was beautiful. I would love to go to Australia.

 
For visitors reading this, do you have any recommendation for where to tour/eat/explore in the Bowling Green area or all of Kentucky? Home Café has lots of local farms’ produce and meat. A place with good walking trails and disk golf is Kereiakes Park   

Any last words of wisdom for your visitors reading this? For locals from Bowling Green: before I started working here, I didn’t realize that you could come and walk the Blue Hole Trail for free. It gives you exercise with something to look at also.  

Leave a Reply

