Employee Spotlight: Crys Smith

Summer is the busiest season at Lost River Cave, and we can’t say thank you enough to the staff for their hard work. Lost River Cave recognizes wonderful individuals who keep us afloat, from tour guides to cashiers to maintenance.

Crys Smith has lived in eight states, and she moved to Bowling Green in August of 2009. She graduated in May with three majors from Western Kentucky University. Her majors are Biology, Middle School Science Education and Science Math Education. She just accepted an 8th grade teaching position in science for West Creek Middle School in Clarksville, TN.  It has been wonderful to have Crys as a tour guide at Lost River Cave this summer, and we wish her the best of luck with her new job. 

Q &A with Crys

What originally brought you to Lost River Cave? A geology professor at Western told me that there were job positions open and I should apply. I’d never been here or to Mammoth Cave before then.

 How is Lost River Cave different from any other employer you’ve ever had? Oh gee whiz, let’s see. Well, it’s outside. I usually don’t work outside, but it’s a lot cooler in the valley than people realize and the cave is cooler as well.  Working with the public, this is an opportunity for me to be explaining to them something that they may not know.
  
Have your thoughts on caves or nature changed at all since you’ve been here? The caves. I’d never been in one, and I didn’t know what one looked like. The humidity inside the cave surprised me, especially when the fog rolls in.  

Have you had any memorable visitors during your time working here?
Oh gosh yes. There was a group of livewires from East Kentucky. They rode in on their motorcycles. I started talking with one gentleman on the porch not realizing he was going to be on my tour. When I got down there and started talking to the group, the gentleman stepped up and commented on how obnoxious he was and how much trouble he was going to be. I laughed and said I was a middle school science teacher and I just had a group of 130 14-year-olds. Bring it on!  They howled and said I was on a mission from God.  Little things like that just stick with you. 

What do you think the WORST corny cave joke is?
The difference between the column and the pillars joke. The column is when a stalactite and stalagmite meet, while the pillar is what we sleep on here in Kentucky.

Have you had much opportunity to travel, if so where to? Or where would you like to go?  I have been all over the country. If I could travel anywhere, I’d like to see Canada and Europe.

For visitors reading this, do you have any recommendation for where to tour/eat/explore in the Bowling Green area or all of Kentucky?
Buckhead Cafe is my favorite place to eat. Their French Onion soup is out of this world.  They have the best in town.  I personally would like to go on tours of distilleries in this area. That’s cool, that’s Kentucky history at its best.

Any last words of wisdom for your visitors reading this? Anything you could possibly want to do, you can find in Kentucky.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Can I simply say what a relief to search out somebody who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know the best way to convey a problem to light and make it important. Extra folks must read this and understand this facet of the story. I cant imagine youre no more standard since you definitely have the gift.

    Reply

  2. this style of writing is really a correct skill and art form! wonderful work I commend anybody having a skill at writing including yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

