Employee Spotlight: Curtis Epsey

Summer is Lost River Cave’s busiest season, and we can’t say thank you enough to the staff for their hard work. Lost River Cave recognizes the wonderful individuals who keep us afloat, from tour guides to cashiers to maintenance.     

Today Lost River Cave spotlights Curtis Epsey who is originally from Pennsylvania and just started working as a tour guide at Lost River Cave this summer.

Q&A with Curtis Espey

What originally brought you to Lost River Cave? I was just looking for a job, and while I was job hunting my mom told me of a random place she saw a job opening for online, so I came in and got an application.

How is Lost River Cave different from any other employer you’ve ever had? There’s a lot of freedom in the job. I get to be outside all the time while I’m doing tours, and I get to make my story a part of my tour.

Have your thoughts on caves or nature changed at all since you’ve been here? Not really. I’m a pretty outdoors-oriented person. I’ve been pretty environmentally aware, and being here promotes that.

Have you had any memorable visitors during your time working here?I’ve met a lot of newlywed couples, and they all seem to be from Colorado, no joke. I had a couple from Colorado this past weekend who really wished they’d known we rented out our dance floor because they would’ve had their wedding here at Lost River Cave. When they showed up they fell in love with the place. They were visiting Bowling Green on their honeymoon.

What do you think the WORST corny cave joke is? The sticktite joke. (Sticktites are what we call the stick debris that gets stuck to the ceiling of our cave and vaguely resembles stalactites.) 

Have you had much opportunity to travel, if so where to? Or, where would you like to go? I’ve not had the opportunity to travel. I’d really like to live in Colorado because I love being outside, and I love being able to snowboard and climb, and that’s a place you can do both. I’ve never been on a plane, and I’d love to travel and I don’t care where to.

For visitors reading this, do you have any recommendation for where to tour/eat/explore in the Bowling Green area or all of Kentucky: If you are in the Bowling Green area looking for food and you even vaguely like pizza, I suggest Lost River Pizza Co.  If you are in the Kentucky area and you like the outdoors, I suggest going to the Red River Gorge in East-Central Kentucky. It is great for being outside.  When you go, you better go eat at Miguel’s. It’s a pizza place.

Any last words of wisdom for your visitors reading this? Appreciate the beauty of the outside; it’s not often that we get to fully appreciate the outdoors because we are stuck inside so much as a culture. While you are here, take advantage of it.

Leave a Reply

