Employee Spotlight: Kathy Kontio

Summer is the busiest season at Lost River Cave, and we can’t say thank you enough to the staff for their hard work. Lost River Cave recognizes wonderful individuals who keep us afloat, from tour guides to cashiers to maintenance.

Kathy Kontio is originally from Bowling Green and graduated from Michigan Tech with a Bachelor’s in Ecology. After college, she had bird field jobs in various states. Kathy has worked with endangered birds like the California Condor and the Piping Plover. She was in AmeriCorps for two years in New York State where she started working in environmental education. Kathy started working as a tour guide for Lost River Cave this summer.   

Q & A with Kathy

What originally brought you to Lost River Cave?  Well, I’m from Bowling Green, and I saw a job opening and it’s the perfect place; are you kidding me?!

How is Lost River Cave different from any other employer you’ve ever had?  Well I get to drive a boat in a cave, and that’s pretty sweet.

Have your thoughts on caves or nature changed at all since you’ve been here? It has strengthened my realization that I want to stay in the Ecology field for a career.  

Have you had any memorable visitors during your time working here? I had someone from Holland on my tour, but no famous people or anything as far as I know.  

What do you think the WORST corny cave joke is? “Oh I see you left some people at the dam for me to pick up.” (One boat driver says to the other boat driver in the cave.)

Have you had much opportunity to travel, if so where to? Or, where would you like to go? I’ve travelled a lot to go to different places for work in the United States.  I’d like to go to New Zealand and Europe.

For visitors reading this, do you have any recommendation for where to tour/eat/explore in the Bowling Green area or all of Kentucky?  I did the zip-lining at Mega Caverns in Louisville; it’s the only underground zip line in the world. It’s totally worth it.   

Any last words of wisdom for your visitors reading this? We’ll get to the cave eventually.

Leave a Reply

